Coverage Evaluation

I’m delighted to say that the press release that I worked on last week (about the digital launch of the campaign) was picked up by quite a few journalists and secured quite a bit of coverage! It shows how hard working the team is and they should take the glory here since they did the work on the campaign itself… I am just reporting on it for journalists’ attention! The press team also edited my written drafts and supported me in writing the press release before I sent it out. But it is very rewarding to see all of this,

Digital campaign of the week in Third Sector

digital campaign of the week

presscoveragedigital3

See the full article

Charity Digital News Article

presscoveragedigital5

see the full article

A great article in Civil Society “Sightsavers starts general election lobbying with digital mosaic”

press_coverage_digital_civilsociety

See the full article

Article in Enable Magazine – “Sightsavers drums up digital support for disability campaign”

presscoveragedigital1

See the full article

And lots of mentions on Twitter!

presscoveragedigital2

Working in the communications team is introducing me to a whole new world! The world of Public Relations or PR. Its nice to bring the small amount of international development knowledge that I have, as a second year degree student, into another field. These skills that I’m developing, of communicating and writing will be valuable in any role I decide to pursue after graduating from Sussex University. But I am enjoying PR as I genuinely believe in what I am promoting. Its nice to be telling different audiences of the work that Sightsavers is doing. If I was writing about a random product for a huge corporate company I cant say I would be as enthused about PR. But trying to persuade journalists to write a story on disability-inclusive development has been enjoyable and seeing them pick up my press release and tell their readers is uplifting since I’m only in my fourth week of placement.

Chartered Institute of Public Relations definition of PR:

Public Relations is about reputation – the result of what you do, what you say and what others say about you.
Public Relations is the discipline which looks after reputation, with the aim of earning understanding and support and influencing opinion and behaviour. It is the planned and sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill and mutual understanding between an organisation and its publics.

The importance of coverage

The objectives I was given at the start of my placement were,

1) Raise Funds

  • by engaging and recruiting supporters,
  • influencing spending,
  • and positioning Sightsavers for funding.

2) Influence Change

  • inspiring policy makers and campaigners to take action.

Securing coverage in a range of media platforms will be how these objectives are achieved. There is an agreed organisational communication strategy at Sightsavers and we are to engage and inspire the target audiences through compelling content and story telling.

The measurement of these objectives is to “generate at least 20 pieces of national or international news coverage, across broadcast print and online, around Sightsavers’ key themes”. The media and communications team as a whole are to reach an audience of more than 11 million people.

Next week I will be learning how to track the coverage the article has had and see how many people it has reached. Hopefully it has made a good contribution towards the team’s target.

On the Guardian Development professionals network there are some informative articles on how to use the media to aid development here and here.

Leave a Reply

